Skip to content

UMBRELLA P18 Hydro, 18 kW vs EdilKamin Blade2 H18 Up, Bronze

Umbrella P18 Hydro or EdilKamin Blade2 H18 Up?

Both feed a heating circuit rather than a room, and both publish the split that matters on such an appliance — how much of the output goes to the water. Past that they part company. The Umbrella gives an efficiency to a decimal place, a 40 kg hopper against an eleven-to-eighteen-hour run, a coverage figure and the whole control scheme. The EdilKamin gives three numbers, and one of them — a flue gas temperature of 138 °C — is the lowest published anywhere on this site.

Black Umbrella P18 hydro pellet stove with a control display and a large pellet hopper lid

UMBRELLA P18 Hydro, 18 kW

Wins 4 of 12

Check price

Bronze steel EdilKamin Blade2 H18 Up water-carrying pellet stove with a narrow vertical firebox window

EdilKamin Blade2 H18 Up, Bronze

Wins 3 of 12

Check price

Line by line

Compared on P18 Hydro, 18 kW Blade2 H18 Up, Bronze
Nominal output 18 / 10 kW, as published · up to 12.5 kW 19.2 kW · 15.5 kW
Reduced output The maker does not state it. The maker does not state it.
Efficiency 90.8 % Not published
Hopper capacity 40 kg Not published
Noise level The maker does not state it. Not published
Flue gas temperature The maker does not state it. 138 °C
Flue outlet diameter Not published Not published
Stated coverage up to 300 m³, as published The maker does not state it.
Energy label A+ · Stated as possibly eligible, with the maker’s own conditions attached A++
Control up to 18 h automatic, min. 11 h · Auto and manual, ECO1/ECO2, timer, power levels, weekly programme · Stated as Wi-Fi ready · Vacuum switch monitoring the flue path; overheat protection The maker does not state it.
Dimensions The maker does not state it. The maker does not state it.
Weight The maker does not state it. The maker does not state it.

A tick means one listing published something the other did not, or published a better figure. It does not mean the product is better, and the column is not a score out of anything: a maker who says less loses lines here without losing a comparison. The two verdicts below are where the page is settled.

Which one, for whom

Buy the UMBRELLA P18 Hydro, 18 kW

The Umbrella is the one to shortlist if the appliance has to be left alone. Forty kilograms of hopper against a stated eleven to eighteen hours is the only pair of figures on this shelf from which a filling interval can be worked out, and 90.8 % is published to the decimal. Two cautions sit on the same page: the total output is printed as 18 / 10 kW with no explanation of which is which, and the 300 m³ coverage names no insulation assumption.

Buy the EdilKamin Blade2 H18 Up, Bronze

The EdilKamin publishes three figures and they are the three a heating circuit is specified on — 19.2 kW total, 15.5 kW to the water, and flue gas at 138 °C, the coolest exhaust anywhere in this catalogue. On the dearest appliance in the family, everything else is missing: no efficiency behind the A++ label, no hopper capacity, no run time, no dimensions and no weight.

Questions that follow from this pair

What does the water-side output actually mean?

It is the part of the appliance’s output that goes into the heating circuit rather than into the room it stands in. Both listings publish it — 12.5 kW on the Umbrella, 15.5 kW on the EdilKamin — and it is the figure a system is sized against. The total output alone does not tell you what the radiators receive.

Why does 138 °C stand out?

Because it is the lowest flue gas temperature published by any appliance on this site, and a cooler exhaust means more of the heat stayed in the house. It also changes what the flue must be: a low flue gas temperature raises the risk of condensate in an unlined masonry chimney, which is a question for whoever specifies the liner.

Neither publishes a flue outlet diameter — does that matter?

Yes, and the row is a draw because both are silent. It is the number every pipe, elbow and wall sleeve on this site is ordered against, and on a pellet appliance it is usually 80 mm. Neither listing confirms it, so it has to come from the instructions before any connecting part is bought.

The full reviews

The price beside each product is fetched as this page opens, and it is the only figure here that is current. Any amount written into the prose was read once, on the day that sentence was written, and nothing has refreshed it since.